Notice for 72-hour TWOV at Beijing and ShanghaiAirports

To avoid any inconveniences and unnecessary losses, please read the following notice.

í░Nationals of applicable countries holding his/her valid international travel document and confirmed onward tickets can transit at Beijing or Shanghai airport to a third country (region) without a visa as long as the stay is at the Beijing or Shanghai administrative area and is less than 72 hoursí▒. Passengers have to arrive and depart from the same city, Beijing or Shanghai.

The following examples do not qualify for the 72-hour visa-free transit policy in Beijing or Shanghai:

Case One:

A passenger who has purchased a connecting flight ticket to Jakarta, Indonesia with a transit in Beijing on Air Chinaí»s flights CA978 and CA977 does not qualify for a 72-hour visa free stop in Beijing because the flights are routed through Xiamen for exit procedures from China.

Case Two:

If, for example, a passenger takes a flight from Melbourne to Shanghai and plans to continue travelling to Europe departing from Beijing, the TWOV Program does not apply because the entry point into China (in this example Shanghai) is different than the exit point (Beijing).


The 45 countries initially included in the 72 hour visa-free policy are shown below. Countries:

United States of America, Canada, Germany, France, United Kingdom, Italy, Spain, Sweden, Russia, Greece, Brazil, Australia, Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, United Arab Emirates, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Republic of Lithuania, Luxembourg, Republic of Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Slovakia, Republic of Slovenia, Switzerland, Republic of Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, New Zealand, Brunei, Qatar.