International travelers allowed 72 hour visa-free transit through Beijing


Beijing authorities announced a new 72 hour visa-free transit policy, effective January 1, 2013 for travelers transiting through Beijing who are citizens of one of 45 approved countries, hold third-country visas and have onward plane tickets. In response to this new visa-free transit policy, Air China will offer new products and services to meet the needs of transit passengers, and will continue to improve our operating services to provide maximum possible convenience to passengers traveling through Beijing.

Air China¡¯s extensive flight network makes it the best choice for travelers transiting through Beijing

The 72 hour visa-free policy to be implemented in Beijing applies to citizens from 45 countries including the United States, Canada, Britain, Australia, Brazil, Japan, South Korea and Singapore. Travelers eligible for the visa-free stay in China are allowed to travel and sightsee within the Beijing Municipality. This new policy will exempt travelers from the complicated procedures associated with visa applications, but still enable them to visit Beijing, an iconic center of Chinese culture.

Based in Beijing Capital International Airport, Air China has an extensive flight network that covers 30 countries and regions. As a member of the Star Alliance, the world¡¯s largest airline alliance, Air China leverages the Star Alliance' global flight network to take passengers to 1,356 international destinations in 193 countries. Air China will be the first choice for passengers from countries covered by the visa-free policy who plan to travel around the world through Beijing. Air China connects China with the rest of the world via the Star Alliance.

Air China will strengthen its seating capacity in its Beijing hub and strive to deliver seamless connection services for visa-free passengers

The rollout of the 72 hour visa-free transit policy will boost the number of passengers entering China through the Beijing Capital International Airport. As the largest airline operating from the Beijing hub, Air China has a wide range of flight to choose from. In response to this new policy, Air China will make immediate adjustments to its handling capacity according to the requirements of transit passengers in order to provide maximum support for passengers who fly to every corner of the world via Beijing, ensuring seamless connections for visa-free passengers who visit Beijing. In order to further enhance the passengers¡¯ travel experience, Air China will cooperate with local travel agencies in Beijing to offer short-term travel products lasting one to three days to meet passengers¡¯ needs and will develop other related services and products to invite more travelers to easily and effortlessly discover the beauty of China.

Note: This information is for reference only. For detailed implementation rules, please check the press release issued by the Beijing Municipality by visiting the Beijing Municipal Commission for Tourism Development website at

The 45 countries initially included in the 72 hour visa-free policy are shown below. Countries:

United States of America, Canada, Germany, France, United Kingdom, Italy, Spain, Sweden, Russia, Greece, Brazil, Australia, Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, United Arab Emirates, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Republic of Lithuania, Luxembourg, Republic of Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Slovakia, Republic of Slovenia, Switzerland, Republic of Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, New Zealand, Brunei, Qatar.